Tesla Space #43: ⚡ Tesla Semi 100% ready for Europe, and sleeper cab plans

... and all you need to know about Tesla and Elon-related companies this week.

If this newsletter was forwarded to you, sign up here.

Welcome to the Tesla Space newsletter, our 43rd issue.

We’ve got a special issue today. I flew to Hannover, Germany on Sunday to be among the first to see Tesla Semi debut in Europe. Today’s issue will be all about that (I managed to break some actual news and go semi-viral), and we’ll return to our regular reports next week.

I’m sitting here in the press room right now to update you on everything I’ve learned, and then I’m off to go Dan Priestley, the Semi program lead, give his keynote speech. I’ll also try to film the whole thing for you.

Most days I just love my job, but some days like today, I LOVE my job.

— Jaan

First, here are your mandatory videos to watch before diving into the newsletter. Ted, Sean, and the video team put out gold this week:

The Boring Company Has A New Problem

Our deep dive into Prufrock, Cybertrek reaching the Arctic Ocean, Wireless robotaxi charging, hands-free frunk and how Starlink has taken over the world

The Disappointing Truth About Giga Mexico

Our latest look into what Tesla will or will not do in Mexico That confused John Travolta popping up really had me cracking up!

Looks like you’re ready to continue down the Semi land. Shall we? ↓

TESLA SEMI NOW READY TO GO IN EUROPE

Oh man, this has been a crazy ride — both literally and figuratively. Here’s everything I’ve learned over the past couple of days. We’ll also make deeper dive into Semi on video, likely the one this weekend.

Now, if you haven’t met me yet — this is me

I happened to become one of the five first “regular” people to ever ride in the Tesla Semi. We weren’t allowed to film the ride, only some pictures. But I do have videos on the stationary details.

Before the big news, here’s a bit of a backstory:

Tesla brought two Semis over from the US, made some small changes, and now showed them here in Europe, on IAA Transportation show in Germany. One was on the show floor, the other one sitting in the test drive garages:

here is a video of me walking around this Semi

The Tesla Semi acceleration drive units were also showcased:

video walking around this here

Now, this is the biggest of the news I learned from two separate members of the Tesla team:

Tesla Semi is already fully ready for European roads as it is now

You might’ve noticed the trucks in Europe are… boxy, compared to the US trucks. That actually comes from the regulation for length, and thus the truck makers need to basically “stack the people on top of the engine”. Tesla Semi doesn’t fit in that image.

Now, I’ve learned that yes, the different-than-others cab fits the European regulations. Tesla Semi team says they only had to make a bunch of minor changes to details (modify wheel covers etc).

This comes as some new EU regulation change allows for a longer cab if the aerodynamics of the cab are better. I haven’t been able to confirm if there were any changes in width (I believe the Semi is 2.6m, while regulation is for 2.55m).

The team has previously told me they designed the Tesla Semi with international markets in mind from the start. Considering how little they had to change, it now shows.

Note that does not mean Semi will enter European markets right now. Tesla is focusing on North America and ramping up first, that’s what they confirmed for me. But if Tesla wanted, Semi could drive in Europe right now, as it is, today!

The driver who took me for the ride was from the US team.

Tesla Semi has already ‘saved space’ for the sleeper cab version!

The team, again on two separate occasions (I try and verify everything), told me that they have a space “saved” for the sleeper version with a metal frame behind the cab.

Naturally, I decided to climb up there from the outside and looked (I asked permission, of course) — it is clearly visible on my video here:

I personally would assume Tesla will launch this version once the new Semi factory is up and running, but 🤷 . Still good to know they’re keeping it in mind with all the design already today. I also measured the depth of the frame, but couldn’t do the wide side before another team member told me to get off…

What else I learned:

  • The Tesla Semi driver said they have developed an independent front suspension, and showed me the regen was strong enough to not need brakes through our short ride.

  • He called this version of Semi "European Development Platform

  • The ride was smooth as heck

  • The visibility from the middle seat in the cabin is great. Three cameras on each mirror help, too.

  • Turning radius is “similar to Model Y”

  • The Tesla Semi storage compartments on both sides are actually rather large, and they pop wide open when pushing a button on the touchscreen. I made a video about it here.

  • The rest of the industry is very very curious about the Semi and wants to know all the details. Several times I saw competition dig into all details on the chassis and powertrain. I literally saw two guys from a competing truckmaker that even brought a tape measurer:

  • Check this little fella out. It’s the emergency handle inside the door, which is for when Semi doors don’t open for whatever reason.

WHAT’S NEXT: I'm filming Dan Priestley's keynote speech today in less than hour (got to run and grab a good seat to film), and PepsiCo Semi case study tomorrow! You can find some more videos and photos from me on the X post I made above, and also this one:

You made it! We strive to be the most value-packed Tesla-related newsletter out there.

FEEDBACK: what did you think of today's newsletter?

(keep leaving me replies, love reading each of them)

Login or Subscribe to participate in polls.

Thank you for reading, and see you next week!

Jaan, Ted, and Sean

PS, we’d like to thank all of our supporters on Patreon.

As a monthly supporter of the channel, you will receive our eternal gratitude and respect, plus a little shoutout at the end of every video and maybe even a few perks if you happen to be particularly generous.

James Russell
JackP
S Bartels Rasmussen
Florent Tatard
Sergey Pykhtin
Sandra Karaffa
EJ Messiah
Cees Timmerman
GZHsCrunch
Scott
William Surles
Paul Landino
JOHN NELSON
EDisney
Daniel Roy
Tony Stuntz
Matthew Starrett
Mark Evers
Dr Edward Pearson New Medicine Foundation
Daniel Greenberg
Yvan Van Keer
John Stieber
Stephen Lodwick

Rashid Durham
Robert Bauman
Bantu Morpheus
Mark Evers
Francis Mike Ash
Zameer Masjedee
jndersn
Jean-François Dehalleux
dryfrog
Leonard Schmick
Ainz -
Tarey Johnson
M. Stephane Cnockaert
Tacky
John-Edward Alley, Jr.
Layne Hood
Edward Witt
Kumaran Sivapathasuntharam
Richard Calhoun
Rajiv K Bajaj
Eduardo Nava
Kyle MacCloud
S
John Bridenstine

a picture I took of Semi flapping its wings

Reply

or to participate.